illness : (

December 8, 2010

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

I made something on Saturday. A couple of months ago in a Papermaze sale, I bought a Maya Road Chipboard Bird Cage album, and have been wondering since then what exactly to do with it. So on Saturday afternoon I piled all my scrapbooking materials out my cupboard and set to work picking out my most prettiest vintage floral papers and stickers and acetate. I’m planning to put the best photos from all the photoshoots I did with Rowanna in there. The album is called ‘my muse’, because Rowanna contiually inspires me. I want to create an altered book, a history book of sorts I suppose, all about legends and myths. A kind of how-to. I’ve got the book and everything to create it, I just haven’t got the time. Next year when I’m on my gap year I’ll do it.

December 7 – Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

I’ve discovered a community of wonderful women in Susannah Conway’s Unravelling class. They’re so supportive and unassuming. Great advice and shared worries, fear, thoughts and memories with them. I’d like to the join the local community of artists, who put up work for sale in the doctors surgery and the yearly art show. I want to be more creatively linked to the local artists. I would also love to set up a book club. That’s the nerd within me talking!

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

I’m different I think, because I don’t brush my hair (trust me, it looks better that way!) and I can honestly say that I do not care in the slightest what people think of me. That’s been one of the ongoing changes of 2010, I’ve gradually learnt that other people’s opinions of you do not matter  at all. It makes me happy to be able to go out and be completely and utterly joyful in my own skin. I don’t wear make-up, I don’t follow fashions, I don’t use ‘text talk’, I don’t call my friends ‘darling’, I don’t prance around acting like I own the world (ahem, cough cough people I know!), I don’t go for muscles or strength or daring. I also read a ridiculous amount of books. I’m happy.

I don’t know what I do to light people up. I’d like to think I do so in being so completely me, in their presence. I hope that gives them courage and the will to be themselves. But then, I could be completely wrong about that.

I like being me. : )

Except when I’m ill, which is right now : *

Leave a Reply

