A little magic…

December 5, 2010

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

Interesting. I started letting go of material needs and disposed of fake friendships. This let to wonder about who I really was, which led me back to my imagination, which had been somewhat neglected these past few years. I got back in touch with nature (going for long walks barefoot, that sort of thing), and I started to wonder more about the world, and about mythical creatures and legends. This finally led me to want to go to university in Yorkshire where there are fairies and to spend my gap year in Scotland where there is the Loch Ness Monster, and Ireland where there are leprechauns. So my sense of wonder this year is more in wonderful things of the imagination. I also started drawing fairies again, and with each drawing, I feel more at ease with what I believe.

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

Ahaha. I let go of Bekca. I pissed her off and made no attempt to befriend her again. She was never the kind of person who is really and truly a friend. I let go of Robert and Jamie too, but then decided that they were two people I couldn’t lose again, so I got back in touch with them. I think I’ve finally let go of Lewis. A sensible, friendly person would’ve realised that I have changed so very much, and would’ve made an effort to get talking again. I let go of the bitterness and betrayal I felt by my mother and father. And finally, I let go of my self. I let the old Holly float off into the world of past rumours and assumptions. And the new me, emerged, almost fully formed, like a butterfly.

One Response to “A little magic…”

  1. Kim said

    These are both lovely, especially the notion of you letting go of an old version of yourself. And the bitterness and betrayal–there’s enough of that in the world already; no need to carry around any excess.

    Your university and gap year plans sound wonderful, too. A little extra magic sounds just the ticket.

Leave a Reply

