Baby, it’s cold outside!

December 3, 2010

December 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

Well, when I settle down to write it’s either in the college library or on my laptop at home. But then at the college library I get self-conscious writing a story surrounded by other teenagers who are doing their work and I think ‘Oh crap! I should do some work!’ and I put my story away and pull out some history work or english work and I sit staring at it until my free ends.

On the laptop it’s another matter. I sign in with great excitement for a next twist or new character, and a few minutes later I find myself staring at the Soiltaire card game on the screen. And then because I’m determined to win a game I keep playing and playing and playing. After that, I look through my photo folders, and do some rearranging and deleting and moving about. And before I know it, I’ve signed off and gone to bed.

I could elimate the college work by simply doing my work at any other time, or I could just devote one free a week to purely writing. Meanwhile the laptop shenanigans I could elimate by deleting the Soilatire game (never will happen!) or putting all my photos onto disks so I’d have to do a lot more messing around to look through them all.

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

The moment I felt most alive was on the last day of June when Nick (Sarah’s dad) and I drove 350 miles to bring Sarah home from Ambleside. The drive up was fairly uneventful, but there was excitement buzzing in the car.

Later, after the three of us had a massive Indian meal, Nick went off to his bed and breakfast for the night, Sarah and I collected two huge boxes to pack her things into. We were stuffed and practically high on spices. We were laughing so much, we collapsed on a bench. We hadn’t seen each other for a month, and for two people who are as close as Sarah and I, that’s a bloody long time. The sun wa just going down with that sort of half light that happens around eight o’clock on a summer evening, and there were a lot of people around. It was cool, not hot. The taste of Indian food and coca-cola was lingering on the air. I can’t remeber hearing any other people talking, just us laughing hysterically, but I also can’t remeber what about.

This memory lingers particularly because it was reunion, a two-person party, a sleepover, a holiday, a way of life for Sarah, a saying-goodbye to the place she’d lived for a month, and a rescue, because she really didn’t enjoy herself. It also was a series of life -lessons for both of us.

Well, we have about 5cm of snow here, and yesterday the college was ahem, kind enough to let us have the day off. But today they’ve decided we should go in. Luckily for me, I have just one lesson on Fridays and I’ve managed to persuade mummy darling to let me have the day off!

One Response to “Baby, it’s cold outside!”

  1. Kim said

    The sun was just going down with that sort of half light that happens around eight o’clock on a summer evening…

    Wow, this was really beautiful. And a moment you’ll probably remember for a really long time.

    I hope you keep up with the prompts! These are great responses.

Leave a Reply

