How I Live Now-Meg Rosoff

May 9, 2010

I can’t recall how I came across this book, but I remember I found it at a book sale in our local village hall. It was brand new, or at least I thought it was at the time. But now I realise that there’s a magic to this book that makes it look pristine after all these years. I was immediately drawn to it because of the cover-deep, dark scarlett with gold butterflies and rough fonts. This was my kinda book. And although I was perhaps: ten: maybe, I picked it up and bought it, along with a big pile of other books. I don’t remember reading it for the first time, I just remember thinking ‘WOW!’. All these years later, it’s still quite possibly my favourite book. It’s such a beautiful book, it’s so unique. I adore the way it’s written, I adore the characters (and I wish Isaac was real because if he was, I would marry him) I think the thing I love most of all is the title. It’s got such determination, and finality to it. Daisy is almost daring anyone to suggest that her life is wrong.

J’adore.

Leave a Reply

